Foreign Ministers met in Istanbul to work toward achieving nuclear disarmament and fostering an international non-proliferation regime

The Fourth Ministerial Meeting of the Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Initiative (NPDI) took place on 16 June 2012, in Istanbul, Turkey.

The NPDI was established by Australia, Canada, Chile, Germany, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, Poland, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates to take forward discussion and apply the outcomes of the 2010 Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) Review Conference.
The NPDI Meeting assembled the Foreign Ministers of ten States – founders of the initiative – to work towards achieving the goal of a safe world without nuclear weapons.
The UAE's delegation to the meeting was led by Dr Anwar Mohammed Gargash, Minister of State for Foreign Affairs.
Taking place a month after the Preparatory Committee for the 2015 Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) Review Conference held in Vienna, the Fourth Ministerial Meeting assessed PrepCom outcomes and discussed NPDI contributions for the 2015 NPT Review process.
Among the highlights of the meeting was a discussion on the preparation for the 2012 Conference on Nuclear Weapons Free Zone in the Middle East. The discussion also included the achieved results since the Second NPDI Ministerial Meeting, held on 30 April – 11 May 2011.
The Ministers agreed to meet again in September, on the margins of the UN General Assembly in New York, to review the progress achieved and identify future prospects.